Morocco – fun facts


The official name of Morocco is The Kingdom of Morocco

Capital – Rabat

Largest City – Casablanca

Morocco is located in the northern part of Africa

Official Languages – Arabic, Berber, French

Government – Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarch. The King of Morocco is King Mohammed IV. The Prime Minister is Abdelilah Benkirane.

Currancy – Moroccan dirham (MAD)

Morocco declared independence from France on March 2, 1956

From 1912 until 1956, Morocco was divided into French and Spain zones. Today there are only two Spanish controlled zones still remaining, Ceuta and Melilla.

Morocco is about the same size as California

The most popular sport in Morocco is soccer (football). The Moroccan national team became the first African and Arab country to make the 2nd round of a world cup when they did so in 1986.